DC Comics Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack


[Photo by: Jimmy Hubbard]

DCof Dark Nights: Death Metal was already one of the must-sees of this year comics. the Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo-Series of seven numbers Helmed follows Batman, Wonder woman and Superman as they battle enemies from the Dark Multiverse, including the infamous Batman Who Laughs.

As the title suggests, the story is dark, intense, and completely metal. Now DC Comics and Loma Vista Recordings have announced something huge: the Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack. It’s a unique collection of original, comic-inspired songs, adding an exciting dimension to the DC Universe and expanding it into a new realm of storytelling.

Read More: 10 Underrated Metalcore Albums That Worth Another Listening

What artists are releasing new music on the soundtrack, you ask? Oh, you might recognize a name or two. There is Stand up against, Chelsea wolfe, Denzel curry, Slayerof Dave lombardo, Chester benningtonis pre-Linkin Park project Gray daze, Mastodon, Chino Moreno of Deftones… And in their very first musical collaboration, Maria brink of At the moment team up with Andy biersack of black Veil Brides. Yeah, it’s so good.

The soundtrack is released digitally on June 18 and physically on July 16. You can find the full list of tracks below:

  1. Mastodon – “Forged by Neron”
  2. Chelsea Wolfe – “Diana”
  3. HEALTH, Tyler bates – “ANTI-LIFE” (with Chino Moreno)
  4. Maria Brink, Tyler Bates – “Meet Me In Fire” (with Andy Biersack)
  5. Gray Daze – “Anything, Anything”
  6. Rise Against – “Broken Dreams, Inc.”
  7. Manchester Orchestra – “Unending”
  8. Denzel Curry, PlayThatBoiZay – “Bad luck”
  9. Carach Angren – “Skull with a forked tongue”
  10. Starcrawler – “Good Time Girl”
  11. FIRE ARMS, Tyler Bates – “Berserker” (feat. Dave Lombardo)
  12. Greg Puciato, Tyler Bates, Gil sharone – “Now you really did it”
  13. Show me the body – “Stone Cold Earth”
  14. SLOW MOTION – “Sodium”
  15. Soccer mom – “Kissing in the rain”

Can’t wait until next month to start listening? You’re lucky-Rise Against “Broken Dreams, Inc.” has been out since September and the opening track from the album “Forged By Neron” by Grammy-Mastodon, the winning metalheads, just fell today. The title of the new song refers to a demon lord of hell who appears throughout the series, and somehow it’s not even the heaviest thing in the song. . Check it out here:

If you did a double take on the part about the late Bennington’s Gray Daze new music, we can explain it to you. The group has already released a cover of The 1985 Dramarama song “Anything, Anything”, one that resonated deeply with Loma Vista President Tom Whalley. In fact, Whalley went out of his way to request that the song be included. Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack, so Gray Daze headed over to the studio to work on a new version. But don’t worry: they’ve kept Bennington’s original vocals.

For all collectors, DC also publishes other content: special editions of Dark Nights: Death Metal numbers 1 to 3 featuring Stand up against, Gray daze and Curry on the covers, which will be released alongside each artist’s respective flexi record singles. And frankly, they look pretty sick:

As impressive as the lineup of artists is, none of this could have happened without the vision of a brain: composer and executive producer Tyler Bates, the man behind the music for films such as 300, Guardians, John wick and Guardians of the Galaxy. He initially recruited a number of artists from the soundtrack for their help in creating the animated comic book showcase, Sonic metalverse, in which the visuals of Dark Nights: Death Metal are brought to life with cinematic sounds and top-notch voice acting.

You can watch it for free right now on YouTube, and it’s worth checking out the all-star cast on your own: Chelsea Wolfe plays Wonder Woman, Andy Biersack plays Batman and the Legendary David Hasselhoff himself plays Superman. Even Curry and Tim McIlrath from Rise Against gives the vocals a chance, playing Darkseid Batman and Lobo respectively.

With so many talented musicians collaborating on Sonic metalverse, it was inevitable that original music would emerge – especially since so many of them are comic book fans. Curry, Biersack and Andy Hull of Manchester Orchestra may have brought DC’s deepest knowledge to the table, and Bates joked that Curry in particular knew even more about Dark nights than him.

McIlrath also grew up reading comics, and he believes there is a fundamental similarity between writing on Super hero and making music, a common mission that brought the whole project together: “At the end of the day, all of us – musicians, cartoonists, writers – are just storytellers,” he told us last year. “Everyone tells a story… and within that story are themes about how they feel about humanity and the world around them, power, powerlessness and struggle. So important things happen even in the pages of a Batman comical, just as important things happen on the airwaves.

Operating in the Dark Nights: Death Metal The universe makes perfect sense for a socially and politically conscious artist like McIlrath. Writer Scott Snyder and illustrator Greg Capullo have created fiction that intelligently reflects reality, a point of view that is also reflected in the backing tracks. “We are in a time when conspiracies and cults have become more influential than facts and truth,” Bates says. “The countless concepts that we now deal with on a daily basis – good versus evil, truth versus lie, power versus altruism, etc. – are integrated into each musical note of this album. It is an art that imitates life. “

If you are as excited about this soundtrack as we are, it is now available for pre-order as a digital download, CD and 2xLP, plus exclusive vinyl variant covers of Superman, Wonder Woman and Batman, 11 limited edition character collectible cards and more. Whether you are a fan of superheroes, heavy music or both, this is an album not to be missed.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.